TV Thoughts on 11/27/12

Standard

It’s Tuesday!  Meaning it’s my favorite night of television.  In fact, I like so many shows on Tuesday that I can’t even DVR them all.  And not even all of my shows were on tonight!

On a given Tuesday, here is the breakdown of what I watch: The Voice Results Show, Ben and Kate, Emily Owens MD, Happy Endings, Sons of Anarchy.  I now watch The New Normal and New Girl on Hulu – I can wait a day for those two (and New Girl has been noticeably inconsistent this season, I’m a bit ashamed).

And now, show by show, I will collect my TV thoughts:

The Voice Results:  I am going to be SO angry when Cassadee Pope makes it into the top 4.  But I will get over it as long as Nicholas Davis, Amanda Brown and Trevin Hunte are in there with her.  The results show is insanely boring and I fast forward everything except the actual results.

Ben and Kate: This show is so adorable – it’s sweet and simple and doesn’t try too hard.  I do wish they’d utilize Maggie Elizabeth Jones (the precocious 6-year-old) a bit more because she’s awesome. And can I please vote Leslie Grossman in as a series regular?  I think her character could be perfect for Ben … just a thought, Mary Cherry FOREVER!

Emily Owens, MD: I am completely enamored with Mamie Gummer.  It may not be the greatest show writing-wise (no quick wit like in Vampire Diaries or in the ghost of Gossip Girls past), but Emily Owens is a character the majority of us can relate to.  In fact, to me she is Lizzie McGuire all grown up – but instead of having an animated inner-self, she has an inner monologue voiceover.  And I KNOW the people related to Lizzie McGuire (when Lizzie got a bra, I got a bra.  It was a deep connection that has never been broken).

No Happy Endings tonight, but it is without a doubt my favorite comedy on television.  And the show deserves MAJOR credit for bringing itself out of obscurity and becoming a recognizable force of comedy.  Also the banter between Damon Wayans Jr and Eliza Coup alone is enough reason to watch/adore this show.

Sons of Anarchy: Wow. Just … wow.  Every damn week it’s wow.  I started watching this show from the beginning a few months before season 4 aired.  I had heard about it but wasn’t sure if I would like it … oh how wrong I was.  Kurt Sutter has created one of the most dynamic serialized shows I have ever seen.  A Hamlet-esque story set in the world of a motorcycle club called Sons of Anarchy or SAMCRO, the show doesn’t shy away from taking a conventional storyline and blowing it up with more twists and turns than even an episode of Grey’s Anatomy season 2 could muster.  This week was the penultimate episode of Season 5 and one test after another was thrown at our hero, Jax, now president of the club since he pushed out Clay, the man who killed his father and married his mother (like I said, Hamlet).  We see Jax, a man who headed up the presidency with promises of bringing SAMCRO back to its glory days before Clay, slowly turning into the former president he despises.  It will all come to a head next week in the season finale, and I for one cannot WAIT.  If you’re reading this and have never seen the show, check it out on Netflix.  One of the best TV decisions I’ve ever made.

Leave a comment